Skip to content

Food I LOOVE to eat

May 18, 2009
tags:

Everyone says we should eat to live but not live to eat. I am one who believes in the other way πŸ˜€ All the hard work we put in is to earn ourselves and our families Roti, Kapda aur Makaan.Right? What’s life without good food? So here I go with a list of my favorite dishes

Noodles!!!!

VeggieNoodles2I just love them!!! Be it the all time famous, easy-to-make, ever yummy Maggi or the Chinese ones mixed with vegetables, non-veg or any others thing I love them. Morning break-fast or part of the lunch, evening snacks or part-of-main course for dinner I would like to eat it at any time of the day. The only form of noodles I dislike or rather like a little less is the hard noodles. They are so dry and I wouldn’t prefer them anytime when compared to the softer ones.

Pav-bhaji.

pav-bhajiIsn’t it simply Yummy? Hot hot pav bhajji served and then the soft pav being eaten with the spicy curry. Onions cut in smaller pieces and then a lemon sprinkled on the curry. Wow! I am drooling here even with a thought of it.

Pani-puri:

pani_puriI always wonder whether it is the water or is it the masalaΒ  or is it the empty puri that gives the yummy taste. But when I keep the 1st puri into my mouth, I forget everything and am drowned into its taste.. How can something be so simple to make and yet so yummy to taste. Though i tried making pani puri at home it turned out to be not-so-tasty. Forget about whether it is hygienic or not but the taste of pani-puri is best when eaten at a dabba-wala than when eaten at a restaurant/hotel/any other eatery.

Mirchi-bajji

mirchi_bajji

Evening time..It is raining out side.. you sit before TV and would want to eat something tasty.. Does anything strike to your mind other than mirchi-bajji? My mom makes them so wonderfully that we end up eating more and more. If any are left over then she cuts them into small pieces and then fries them in oil and they also taste very good. Not sure as to what they are called.

Ever Famous Hyderabadi Chicken Biryani.

chicken_biryaniBeing the non-vegetarian lover I am, how can I even dare to forget this! Yummy chicken biryani. No words are enough to even describe the lovely taste of this. Though i heard a lot of people praising the Hyderabadi chicken biryani for its taste i am not sure as to what is the difference between it and the other biryanis. This is probably because once it is served into my plate, i forget everything and just enjoy eating it πŸ˜€ [pic from this blogΒ  ]

Avakaya Pachadi/ Mango pickle

avakaya In my childhood days, the summer holidays time, all the cousins use to play all day and my grand mom and all other mom’s would be busy preparing the mango pickle for the year ahead and at the end of the day, my grand mother used to give all of us handful of the Avakaya rice.Luckily for me, my mom has mastered the art from my grand mother and we have this scene repeating in out home every year in april-may:)

Frankie

frankieI couldn’t find a better picture for this 😦 frankie especially the chicken-tikka frankie is my all season favorite.

Good list. na? I am drooling here while seeing the pictures of all these.

Apart from all these, i would love to eat anything which is spicy. What is this irony? we create such tasty food items and then they say eating them regularly is not good for health.Why do all the tasty things have to be not so good for health? why? why?

Pics Courtesy: Google

28 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 7:59 PM

    Mystery ! Why are you guys doing this to me! First Smita with her post on chaats and now you!! You have me drooling all over my laptop!

    Noodles!! Yum Yum! Its been ages since I’ve made it!
    Pav Bhaji ! Pani Puri – yes, it tastes the best at a Thela wala! Restaurant pani puris are so sterile and tasteless! My dad says I won’t like it unless that pani puri wala’s sweat is added to make it tasty, but I don’t care! I love it!
    Mirchi Bhajjis – Haven’t had it since ages! and am now dying to!
    Chicken Biryani! Me too! I have been dreaming of Chicken Biryani – I just don’t get tasty Biryani in restaurants here! How I miss it!

    The tastiest food is always the most unhealthy 😦 So sad!

    Smitha,
    note down all these on a piece of paper and eat them when you come to India. Write a post on it and then make us Jealous πŸ˜€
    “Restaurant pani puris are so sterile and tasteless!” very true.
    “My dad says I won’t like it unless that pani puri wala’s sweat is added to make it tasty” same here. my dad always says the same thing πŸ™‚

    Its been really long that i ate something mentioned in the list 😦 coz i became health conscious and stopped eating baahar ka khaana for a while..hope to get back to unhealthy stuff soon πŸ˜€

  2. May 19, 2009 3:22 AM

    achcha….now that I am drooling while also feeling sleepy at three am in India πŸ˜€ please let me go to sleep and dream yummy dreams of more food:D
    will be back tmrw to write my heart out πŸ˜€

    also what is it with food posts all of a sudden?I mean this is the fourth post on food that I am drooling about πŸ˜€
    before this it was golgappas at a friend’s blog
    I think you too are a visitor there πŸ˜€

    Yes i too am a visitor of smita’s blog. I was midway writing this post and then saw her writing about all the varieties of chaat she ate over the weekend…
    So, did you have wonderful dreams of food?

    • May 19, 2009 3:24 AM

      correction:-you too are a visitor there I think or I was about to give you the link to Smita’s post

      left out the last part by mistake:D

      Dont worry. i visit her blog regularly πŸ™‚

  3. May 19, 2009 3:46 AM

    Mystery, This is not fair. *drooooooooooooool* I am on a weight loss spree and here you post this to take me back to my ‘Live to Eat’ phase. πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

    I totally get your living to eat motto. I am changing it for Summer to fit into cuter dresses. In winter I hoard food. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    dont you worry Solilo. Summer will not stay for ever and u can get back to eating all the varieties you like

  4. May 19, 2009 3:46 AM

    Golgappas my favorite of all times. I can always live to eat golgappas.

    me too πŸ™‚

  5. May 19, 2009 6:55 AM

    yummmmy!!! i saw the first thing — noooooodles and i just had to comment cuz i couldn’t stop drooling lol i heart noooodles anytime anywhere made by anyone πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ and i can’t wait for my next trip to india.. let’s say, i go to india to EAT hehe lol

    come to India and eat ur heart full..

  6. May 19, 2009 5:56 PM

    Yummy yummy post.
    I am drooling,my all time fav is pani puri and noodles,i did a post on maggi noodles .

    Sob sob i don’t get our panipuri bandiwala here 😦

    Lol hyderabadi biryani i make this every friday and we all love it. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    You make it! Then you can enjoy the taste whenever you want

  7. May 19, 2009 6:41 PM

    I am trying to lose weight… now dont you make me droollll…. geeez… my key board is already wet… !

  8. May 19, 2009 10:07 PM

    I am drolling here…………….
    mere thoughts of food can do that to me πŸ™‚

    I love everything in that list!!! especially the biriyani!!!! Amen to that!!!!!
    Amen

  9. May 19, 2009 11:37 PM

    we can go out to eat together… our choices are quite common…

    yea yea.. ok ok.. you can pay the bill… I can understand you surely want a star like me to accompany you…

    no worries… dear….

    Just came over after reading your blog review.
    So u like being called bhai? πŸ˜€ Dhiru bhai.. Ambani inspiration?
    Winnie has definitely made u a star. So u should be the one who gives a treat to all the blog samaaj πŸ™‚

    • May 20, 2009 2:46 AM

      ROFL!!
      Winnie! you have created a monster with your review ! πŸ˜€

      me: πŸ˜†

      • May 20, 2009 4:22 PM

        hmph… i never said I loved being called a bhai… I said all call me dhirubhai… !! and ambani is not a inspiration… he is an aspiration… !!!!

        I give a party to you all… come on over to my house… I ll cook for you all !!!!!

      • May 22, 2009 12:32 PM

        Let him enjoy his 15 min fame.. come sunday that would be forgotten πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

        Mystery: πŸ˜› new review coming up on sunday?

  10. May 20, 2009 2:45 AM

    came back and what do I feel?
    like drooling all over again πŸ˜€

    arre what do I write?
    its all droolworthy πŸ˜€
    I love all the khaana except the non veg stuff πŸ˜›

    Indyeah,
    Start eating Non-veg for once and i am sure you would like it too:D
    ya all of it is droolworthy. the more u see the more u want to eat πŸ™‚

    so the rest is so totally mine πŸ˜€
    and I am going t o go and make maggie now..since I cant get my hands on anything else this late at night πŸ˜€

    maggie…i want to eat it now 😦

  11. May 20, 2009 9:30 AM

    Droooool!!!!!

    Paani Puri, Biryani (veggie), Mirchi Bhajiya & noodles would feature in my to die for food list as well πŸ˜€

    And ur ques…sigh!!! I keep asking that to people around me….all good things come with a heavy price tag 😦

    ya.. good things always come with a heavy price 😦 😦

  12. May 20, 2009 12:12 PM

    hey you need to enable that comment threading feature…

    its already enabled

    • May 20, 2009 12:31 PM

      i logged out and am checking again. its enabled. its coming on the top right corner unlike the bottom right corner for others. is there some other setting i should change?

  13. May 20, 2009 4:21 PM

    geeez… it is there… maybe i need glasses… !!!! :mrgreen:

    • Solilo permalink
      May 21, 2009 6:20 AM

      You have to spam every blog out there. πŸ˜†

      • May 21, 2009 6:19 PM

        madam you are mistaken… commenting is fun, its cool and its desirable… its not spamming !!! πŸ™‚

  14. May 22, 2009 12:31 PM

    Whoosh! That was some post! now my stomach is growling!!

    Paanipuri!!! I have it from roadside thela too they make is sooooo tasty
    Yes. they make it so tastily πŸ™‚
    And pav bhaiji ( I am partial to the ones made in mumbai.. in bangalore.. i havent found one i like!!)
    i haven’t tasted it at many places. so as of now i loove all πŸ˜€
    Frankly any junk food! be is frankie or daabeli ( i miss this!!) or vada pav samose…

    Okay i should stop!!
    πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    πŸ˜€ you better stop or else everyone reading will drool more πŸ™‚

  15. May 25, 2009 3:46 PM

    Ah superb tasty post… πŸ™‚ i loved it… πŸ™‚ me too love noodles much… somehow learned to cook maggi noodles… he he he… how can i miss the briyani… nothing can match that taste… same applies to roadside pani puris… i just love them πŸ™‚ and best one is mango pickle… i will just keep that in mouth for hours and enjoy it… but my mother didnt learned the art well 😦

    Hey Kanagu,
    Maggi..any time we feel like eating noodles we can just make maggi and cherish that taste na..
    mango pickle… awesome taste..

  16. May 25, 2009 9:23 PM

    Any food with some chilli in it makes me drool … this is dinner time and now I can only think of noodles, frankies and vada pao and biryani!

    For me the food should be spicy.. chilli + all masalas will do πŸ˜€

  17. vishnu permalink
    June 4, 2009 7:54 PM

    ha.. feeling hungry now.. [:|]
    pics are too good re.. love all the veggies in the list..
    i want them now..

    Try non Veg vishnu πŸ˜€

  18. sravanthi permalink
    June 29, 2009 7:02 PM

    Maximum comments to this post!!!Rads, now you know you are not the only one who thinks the other way(Live to eat :D),Heh.
    hmm..this is not fair…you are not supposed to put finger licking pictures like that on the blog..recession hain yaar….can’ eat all of them at once..haha….Of all the ones, panipuri meri all time fav…

    Mystery: i definitely have company πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

  19. July 28, 2009 3:51 PM

    Wow! Pani Puri, Pav Bhaji n Mirchi Bhajji r my favs! Y did I read this post nw 😦
    mine too thats why mentioned all of them.
    Hey, u from Hyd?
    Yes Swaram i am from Hyderabad. Born and brought up here.

    • July 30, 2009 1:48 PM

      Wow! Me too staying here .. fellow city blogger πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰
      ya.. πŸ™‚

  20. July 28, 2009 7:55 PM

    Hi,

    I think you have posted my photo of hyderabadi Chicken viryani in your website. Thanks, I suppose its that good and tempting. For recipes plz visit my blog mentioned above.

    Hi Sreshta,
    Sorry for putting up your picture without your permission. I have googled for all the pictures and put them up, but haven’t mentioned the same in my post. Edited to add the link to your blog for the picture..
    and yes, it is definitely looking tempting. Will definitely hop over to your blog..

Leave a Reply

