Skip to content

Bye Bye IPL

May 27, 2009
tags: ,

After 40+ days of continuous cricket, IPL is over. Keeping aside the discussions whether the second season was as good as the first and the revenue it generated to the organizers and team owners, I am happy that it is over. Now, I can have my remote in my hand and watch something other than cricket πŸ™‚

Though I wasn’t very much interested in watching it, my dad and brother were totally in and made it a point to cover all the matches. Which means I dint get a chance to watch any other program 😦 I haven’t seen a single match completely this year. The reasons varying from I am working this year unlike last year where I had all time in the world to that being I was not interested too much in it. The one match I saw the most was the 2nd semifinal. I wanted RCB to win against CSK and yes it did win. The 2nd innings was nice to watch with luck switching between both the teams for every over bowled.

Generally speaking, I like to watch the cricket matches(which Indian team is playing). This beside the fact that I am completely unaware of which is leg-side and which is the silly-point πŸ˜€ I may not sit all the while and see the match but will be having a look at the score every now and then and would make it a point to watch the first 15, last 10 overs and the highlights. But IPL was/is not the same as the normal tournaments. On one hand we will be having second thoughts as to which team to support and then not on once or twice a week, at least not on alternate days but 45 days of continuous cricket! Isn’t it too much to get hooked to?

I was supporting the RCB team as two of my favorite players Rahul Dravid and Kumble where in this team. Though they have lost in the final, I am happy that they are the runner-ups and have bounced back well after the dismal performance last year. I was also supporting the Kings XI team and the DC, but both these came after the RCB πŸ™‚

There were many who made statements like IPL/T20 is for young players and the experienced players are not fit to play such matches. I am happy that players like Kumble, Dravid, Gilchrist and the like have proved them wrong. Be it any format, players like these who have gained loads of experience over the years are ready to play any form of the game. It’s just that they need some time to get acquainted to it. And even if they are unable to play such formats they should be treated with some respect.

Apart from the viewers’ perspective that too much of cricket is not good, The IPL is doing more harm to the players itself.Β  We hear that the ICC schedule is already packed and that all the players are playing more games than they used to play a few years ago and now IPL is added to the already packed schedule. Keeping aside the Money they are getting, because of these back-to-back games they are more prone to injuries.

On one side I am happy that IPL is over and I can have my share of TV viewing but on the other side T20 world cup is starting on June 5th. Hmm.. All my TV woes kept aside, I would love Indian team to retain the T20 world cup πŸ™‚

20 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 10:35 PM

    Lol at getting the remote back πŸ™‚ Here in my place the remote is husband’s sacred property πŸ™‚ not to be touched by infidels like me πŸ™‚
    even i dont get to touch the remote…that only when any sports programs are coming
    As for cricket can you believe it – I am more a cricket fan than hubby!! And after marrying him have given it up – having no access to the remote 😦
    make ur husband a bigger fan of cricket.. then u can see the matches even without touching the remote πŸ˜€

    • May 29, 2009 8:18 PM

      get 2 remotes and they you can have the TV fight and giggle like kids πŸ˜€

      lol.. we can do that but then parents will have tough time handling us πŸ˜€

  2. May 28, 2009 8:39 AM

    I have lost touch with Cricket though still know Cricketers πŸ˜‰

    Mystery: πŸ˜†

  3. May 28, 2009 10:58 AM

    Bad news dear !!

    the t-20 world cup starts on 5th June !!!!!

    whats best on 1st june there is India v/s NewZealand & on 3rd India v/s Pakistan warm up matches before the world cup !!!!

    πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    do your bro and dad know ???? lol πŸ˜†

    😦 i m sure if not dad brother knows the schedule and would be planning to watch all the matches

  4. rama rao permalink
    May 28, 2009 4:03 PM

    I will watch all the matches πŸ™‚

    Mystery: πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  5. May 28, 2009 8:48 PM

    This full month got used to watch IPL that we r getting bored now in the evenings.I enjoy watching 20-20 as it gets over soon.

    I am second wife to my hubby,his first wife is cricket :(.Now he is watching WI vs England one day’s.:( and preparing me for the worldcup 20-20 ,IND vs WI etc…….

    We indians go abroad to earn,but now players are coming to india to earn (IPL)

    Yes Saritha, 20-20 mathces are interesting as they get over soon… but this year i wasn’t interested in IPL at all…
    your husband’s cricket craze… all guys are addicted to sports.. ghar ghar ki kahani yahi hai..

  6. May 28, 2009 11:27 PM

    Sigh!!! I miss the game. I was following the game religiously and as is known supporting Kings. Though I also liked RCB coz of Dravid πŸ˜€

    World Cup is about to begin soon so it wud 20-20 yet again πŸ™‚

    ya..world cup is starting soon.. it will more fun as all of us will be supporting the Team India πŸ™‚

  7. May 29, 2009 7:23 AM

    you should see my Mum, i think she’s the biggest IPL fan ever πŸ˜† as for me, i lost interest a couple of years ago… now only Tennis πŸ˜€

    I started watchin tennis matches as brother used to watch them. now even i started liking them. French open is here. u following it?

    • May 29, 2009 5:53 PM

      you lost interest in IPL a couple of years ago ??? strange..?? πŸ˜†

      • May 29, 2009 6:08 PM

        πŸ˜† she meant she lost interest in Cricket.

        • June 5, 2009 9:09 AM

          haha thanks for understandin Mystery 8) , booooo hitchy πŸ˜›

          yeps, French open way to go!!! but Nadal sniff sniff boo-hoo 😦

          U nadal fan? I’m a big fan of Federer.. I wish he wins it this time atleast.

          • Rajesh permalink
            June 6, 2009 12:16 PM

            This is Fedex Biggest opportunity to make two world records one by wining all 4 grand slams and second beating Pete Samprus All Time World Record.If he can’t Now Rafa May Roar Like Tiger Next Year.

            Hmm.. i would want him to win this time and it would be great if he wins the french open final against Nadal. may be next year..

  8. May 29, 2009 8:20 PM

    Not a big sports fan.. but the excitement is contagious!

    My sis is crazy about tennis.. even I like watching them.. but her craziness is a huge turn off!

    Yes winnie its contagious.. Initially even if we are not interested as we continue watching we get interested..

  9. May 30, 2009 2:14 AM

    Mystery, Did you change the theme to Vigilance recently? Looks good.

    • May 30, 2009 12:51 PM

      Yes Solilo.. Changed the theme.. when browsing through the themes initially i dint go through all of them as there were many*lazy me*..now finally changed to this one.. “Looks good”..thanks πŸ™‚

  10. May 30, 2009 6:21 PM

    I am lost absolutely lost when it comes to IPL πŸ˜€

    so many diff players..so many favs πŸ˜€
    I have no clue whom to root for πŸ˜›

    I loved KKR though

    they didnt win a single game though 😦

    PS:-I am eagerly awaiting T20 πŸ˜€

    You loved KKR! i dislike SRK so by default i disliked that team, though i liked few players in it πŸ˜€
    though i would want to watch other programs, i would watch the T20 world cup as it ll be Team India competing

  11. May 31, 2009 4:10 PM

    Mystery – You are tagged – http://wordsndreamz.wordpress.com/2009/05/30/cherished-forever/

    hey Smitha read the post. Will definitely do the tag.

  12. June 1, 2009 5:03 PM

    thanks for this write-up mystery… I am a die-hard cricket and watched most of the matches πŸ™‚ but in home both me and my bro love to watch and now my father too joins us… so no fight… only enjoyment πŸ˜€

    πŸ™‚ It would have been same in my home if i were a guy πŸ˜€

    • June 2, 2009 12:13 AM

      Neither every guy likes cricket nor every girl doesn’t like it… πŸ™‚

      Ya.. that’s true πŸ™‚

  13. vishnu permalink
    June 4, 2009 7:42 PM

    hey.. i never used to watch these matches.. i used to scold my bro when he switches to tat channel.. but t20 is diff.. probably coz of its shorter duration and wonderful performance.. i started liking it…

    u know wat.. my bro had exams during ipl.. so i had full control.. but still i used to watch the match and give him updates.. and wat more.. i used to shout when current goes in between.. tat too when 3rd umpire decision is abt to be revealed.. huh.. and yeah.. started using vodafone live to get updates..
    ha.. thr is some magic in it… πŸ˜‰

    finals was an awesome match.. i really wanted dc to win.. and it did.. thankfully.. otherwise my whole nite out would be waste.. πŸ˜›

    THE BEST ENTERTAINMENT.. tats 4 sure.. πŸ™‚

    T20 is different i know but this time i wasnt much interested into IPL.
    u enjoyed the coz DC won otherwise u wouldn’t be happy πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

