Skip to content

Memoir

June 11, 2009

Smitha has tagged me to write a post on the cherished memories of my life. This is my first ever tag πŸ™‚ and for obvious reasons close to my heart. Here are few of the precious moments in my life which would always stay in my mind. Many of the memories mentioned here have my brother in it as he and I were/are always competing against each other in all the badmashi masti.

1. When I was young, my brother and I used to go out and eat secretly without our parents knowing about it. We used to save the money we were given and go out for eating; it was pani-puri in most of the cases. Β My parents dint know about it until recently πŸ™‚ I wonder whether it is my illusion or not but that pani-puri was the most tastiest when compared to the ones I eat these days.

2. Every time during the summer vacation, my brother and I used to go to our grand parents’ (mom’s parents) home. On one such visit, my brother did something silly and my grandfather scolded him. My brother got very angry and he left to the bus station saying he will be going back to Hyderabad. He was probably 11 then. My grandfather then went out to search him and bring him back to home. In the meanwhile I was sitting in the house and wondering about: how I would be alone there and will he really go back to Hyderabad leaving me? What if he catches the wrong bus? What if my parents leave me there and they will be holidaying with brother (I was just 8 then). Luckily for me, my grandfather found him early and both returned home and I kept rest to my chain of thoughts. πŸ™‚

3. During the school days, when my parents had to go to some party in the night time, they used to lock us in the home as we wouldn’t know whom to invite inside the home and whom not to. And they used to ask us to go to bed early. Till they are in the house we would nod obediently and once we have the whole house for ourselves we used to play all kind of games inside the house including hide and seek. We used to make a big mess of the house and then sleep late. My mom would have had a tough time the next day πŸ˜€

4. I did my engineering from the College of Engineering,Osmania university. There are several other colleges for law, technology etc and a number of Hostels in the campus. As there were many students, there would be several fights in the campus and as a result, we used to have at least one bandh/boycott for each semester. From the 2nd semester we got used to it and used to enjoy the unannounced holiday, but our 1st semester’s incident was very scary.

It was just the 3rd day of the year and while a class was going on, we heard some slogans being raised & after a while, one person from ABVP came and spoke to the lecturer. Then, we were asked to come out of the class. After a while they locked the university gates and all of us were made to sit on the road. Some person was giving a lecture saying that a student from one college was arrested and that we should be protesting against XYZ Inspector for arresting him. That guy went on and on and told that we shouldn’t be deterred even if the police come and try to separate us.

1st thing, we were new to the college. 2nd thing, we were made to sit near the seniors of our college and they dint leave this opportunity to rag us (yes I know ragging is banned. But this was a few years ago) We were all terrified. One of my friend always had this dream to do M.S and go to the U.S of A. Listening to the speaker say that police might come and we should not move from our places, she started with all her theories: What if police come? Will they beat us? Will they arrest us? If they arrest me, then I cannot get a visa for my M.S. and few other such questions. After a while, the police did come but dint arrest anyone and just dispersed the crowd and we somehow reached home safely. In spite of it being scary, it was one memorable day of college life πŸ˜€Β  After that, though we had a number of boycott sessions, we never sat on the road again.

5. When I was in my final year of engineering, this movie Happy Days released. The story revolves around the life of few students, their graduation days, their fights, their love and above all their friendship. Our entire batch, 11 of us decided to go and watch it together. The last part of the movie was a touching farewell song. Just after coming out of the theatre, all of us stared at each other and none of us said anything for a while. The feeling that all of us would be moving ahead in our lives and missing all the fun of college life was conveyed in that moment. That particular moment is one of my unforgettable moments of my college days.

6. Back then, cars were less used and Bajaj Chethak was the prized possession of many. I loved all those moments when all 4 us: my parents, brother and I used to travel by my dad’s chethak.

7. Β One more memory is that one of my maternal uncle used to sit with us(brother and me) and tell us the stories of Ramayana and Mahabharata. Though I don’t remember all of the characters now, I still cherish the memory of our uncle narrating it to us.

8. All those memories of my childhood when all the kids in our neighborhood used to play all sorts of games like 7 stones, hide and seek, marbles, stickers, WWF (WWE now) cards, cricket etc… I was this tom boy type of girl who used to go with my brother and play all the games which guys used to play πŸ™‚

9. Once when one of my cousins came to our home and we were discussing this and that, my cousin was saying that all his friends knew how to whistle and when watching a movie in the theatre, he felt left out as all of them would whistle and he could not. He then asked my dad to whistle and after lot of pleading, my dad whistled. He was indeed good at it. After this, we tried to learn from him. In spite of that teaching session by my dad, all 3 of us: we 2 and our cousin don’t know how to whistle till date.

10. The happiness in the face of my dad when I got placed in the company which I am presently working, the days when mom and I used to speak about this and that, the day when I answered the phone for my brother and the lady on the other end told that my brother got admission into a IIM, the day when I received my first salary, all those marriages of cousins when the rest of us used to sit at one place and chat, the days when we played with our niece and nephew, the days when I used to bunk classes and sit in the college canteen with friends,… loads and loads of memories…Isn’t it difficult to pick 10 of them..

If you are reading this post and have not been tagged earlier, you can pick up this tag.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2009 11:10 PM

    Am I first- for a change πŸ™‚

    Yes you are πŸ™‚

  2. June 11, 2009 11:11 PM

    Will come back and comment πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for taking up the tag πŸ™‚

    Me: πŸ™‚

  3. June 11, 2009 11:41 PM

    great memories…….. πŸ˜›
    just one bandh per semester??? very less… I say…. in my college we used to have almost a few every month πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    I have heard a lot about osmania university…. it is a lot like my college regarding politics….

    Happy days…. wah!!! that is one classic film…. I just love it… espcially the songs…..

    first salary is also special….. and wow, IIM graduate in your family!!! classic….

    Ya..Just one bandh per semester..it was more than enough πŸ™‚

    • June 12, 2009 11:51 AM

      you know in my college… M.S.University especially commerce faculty used to be closed for almost 6 months out of 10 due to strikes… !!!

      1.) if police came in campus strike.. !
      2.) if price of forms went up by rs 20 strike !
      3.) if admission of baroda local students didnt happen strike !
      4.) if admissions closed at 50% then strike.
      5.) if smoking in campus was stopped strike.

      and when college would work… we would have Friendship day, musical morning, musical afternoon, Traditional day, Vegetable day and what not… !!!!

      πŸ˜€

      are you in a shock ???

      πŸ˜† shocked? not really.. have heard of such strikes at other colleges..
      ” if price of forms went up by rs 20 strike ! ” We had it too.. in the 3rd year..

      • July 28, 2009 4:14 PM

        Ha ha Hitchu .. so it ws a striking college πŸ˜‰
        ya looks like πŸ™‚

  4. June 11, 2009 11:53 PM

    Really wonderful memories mystery… πŸ™‚ the first one and 3rd one are really nice so as watching happy days movie during last year… I watched it few months before and I couldn’t stop thinking about my… college life πŸ™‚

    It was one good movie on college life na

  5. June 12, 2009 5:02 PM

    Pani puris – We used to do it too πŸ™‚ My and a friend! And it never tasted as good ever! Guess it was all the clandestine fun πŸ™‚

    Your brother actually left? to go back to Hyd!! Wow! He must have been a brave 11 yr old!

    Your college days seem very eventful ! Wow! And it must have been scary to be asked to protest! I would have been scared too! Esp with the police getting involved and everything! Wow!

    You know – my dad used to have a Bajaj Chethak too πŸ™‚ It used to be quite popular then.. There used to be a long waiting to get one too!

    And I grew up on Ramayana and Mahabharata too! My parents used to tell us the stories every night when we were little.. Have to do that with daughter too..

    10. – All the things you listed are so worth remembering.. so many emotions assoiciated with all those events.. Loved reading your tag!

    Pani puri…Yes i guess the fun added the extra taste to them πŸ™‚
    Yes he actually left..the bus station was very close to our grand parents’ home so we all knew the route.. but he going away like that.. i dint know what to do..
    Imagining Little poohi told ramyana.. I am sure she would ask why snails were not there in those stories πŸ˜€
    πŸ™‚

  6. June 12, 2009 7:01 PM

    Aren’t forbidden things the best?? πŸ˜‰
    Yes they are πŸ˜€
    Nicely done and am sure u must have had tough time penning this down as in what to keep and what to leave πŸ™‚
    ya..was in a dilemma whether to include a few or not..
    Even me n my bro used to be locked out by our parents so that we cud be safe πŸ™‚
    Mystery: πŸ™‚
    Lovely post πŸ™‚
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    • June 12, 2009 10:51 PM

      Smita, they use to lock you so that the neighbourhood is safe !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
      Mystery: πŸ˜†

      • June 15, 2009 11:25 PM

        How did you know that? Ah! You’ve read my post πŸ˜€

  7. craftyshines permalink
    June 12, 2009 10:06 PM

    hey mystery!!! me here with my first comment on ur first ever tag!!!! and this tag was my first ever tag toooo!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    (save the excess sugar rush mystery, i swear i am a safe person to know)

    1. so its true!!!! paani puris were much better earlier!!! 😐
    me collected money too! to go eat orange candy or choco bar!! πŸ˜€
    Yes it is true.. dont we find all the things/people whom we met in the past to be the better ones than those which are now?
    2. awwwww! mystery!!! that was tooo sweet! if he’ll go and parents will holiday with him without u!!! hugs!!!!!!!

    3. lol!!! u make me wish for a sibling mystery!! hahah!
    Oh siblings are wonderful…:)
    4. arre wah! bandh!!! we hardly got bandhs here in mumbai….at least not in college…lol @ ur paranoid friend!!! πŸ˜€
    no bandhs at all! that must be a little boring.. and my friend.. she always coems up with such questions and makes us laugh like anything.. she is very sweet though..
    5. awwww! sigh. when farewell time hits, after spending ever day of ur life around these ppl, it hits bad. 😐 hugsssss
    All farewells are bad 😦
    6. Family on BAJAJ CHETAK!!! cuteeeeeeeeeeeee. loved this memory mystery!!!
    Mystery πŸ™‚
    7. arre! that is so so cute!!! i know a lil of ramayana n mahabharata only coz of doordarshan! πŸ˜› would have loved recitation more tho!!
    Doordashan was the best na..it neither dragged those serials, nor did they miss telling the whole stories..
    8. 7 stones??? like where one team hits the stones and then he oppo team has to put them back??? we call it lagori!!!! me loved it!
    i forgot about it! HUGS MYSTERY!!!!! gotta go call my school friend now!!!!
    yes the same game.. its called lagori! it was too much fun
    9. me don’t know to whistle either 😦 i have tried n tried till my mom had enough of funny noises and funnier expressions on my face 😦
    Mystery: πŸ™‚
    truly an worthy collection mystery! but i loved that i remembered my childhood games by reading this!!!! muahs!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Thanks crafty

  8. June 12, 2009 10:55 PM

    Nicely done tag. Picking 10 memories is quite difficult and thats one reason why I hadnt attempted this tag.

    My 7 years of college will remain the best memories of my life. Sigh! How i miss my friends !! Happy days was such a wonderful movie and I just love the songs in it.
    Oh yes the songs were too good and so was the movie..
    Heyy, I do not know whistling too. Many have tried teaching me, I am too brilliant to understand the knack ! πŸ˜€
    Me too… i end up making the faintest of noises and pose as if i had whistled brilliantly.

  9. June 13, 2009 4:58 AM

    LOL @ paani puris! It was vada pav for us! I remember eating that for 75 paise.. and we used to save 25 paise by 25 paise and then eat it! Never tasted a better tasting vada pav till date!
    Oh ya.. the saving money part was as much memorable.. we used to wait and wait until we finally have saved the amount required for food and then rush to the pani-puri waala..
    We had no strikes in college 😦 missed all the fun!!!
    You did miss the fun..
    I can whistle like a guy πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    I am jealous 😦
    oh lagori was so much fun! I miss them! Once while playing cricket.. the bat slipped from my hand and flew in the air and hit the bowler.. since that day I havent played cricket.. am always scared of hurting someone else πŸ˜€
    poor guy on whom the bat fell..the bat used to slip my hand but thankfully it dint fall on anyone πŸ˜€

  10. June 13, 2009 11:49 AM

    Yum Pani-puris. For the longest time I couldn’t eat it because of my throat. It is my favorite. Aah! Summers vacations were bliss then. Lock you guys. Ha..ha..ha..
    aww.. you couldnt eat them for a while.. go catch up with all you have missed now..
    Bajaj Chetak and four of you. Lovely memories!

    IIM brother. I love them brainiacs.
    Mystery: πŸ™‚

  11. June 14, 2009 7:38 PM

    Loved reading it mystery.The best was learning whistle from ur dad πŸ™‚
    Hehe..
    Pani puris reminded me of my sisters,we all used to go and eat,that time the price for i puri was 10 paisa πŸ™‚
    ya..they were so cheap then na.. as years are passing by they are increasing the rates and decreasing the taste of it 😦
    Bajaj Chetak lol mystery my eyes are mist,we all 5 (my parents and we 3 sisters)used to go on that.
    Its one memory associated with most of us na?
    The road in front of my house used to be closed,so we used to play cricket,7 stones and eyesbyes (hope i spelled it right)and shuttle,and at sharp 6 used to run into the house to wash face and look neat before my mom comes home πŸ™‚
    lol.. we used to play all throughout the evening and come back leisurely at 7 an then do our home works and stuff
    I liked happy days movie but i have seen it very late,as i didnt get cd here and when i went to hyd i picked that cd.
    even though late u saw it na.. it was not a movie to be missed by anyone who have gone to college
    smitha has tag me as well this is pending.My laptop has gone for a toss and now i am back,loads to read and comment πŸ™‚
    Waiting for your post πŸ™‚

  12. June 15, 2009 10:18 AM

    good work…
    so u digged up all the memories..
    yes i remember when we were asked to sit on the road..
    later when the TV people came and interviewed us we didnt even know the reason properly…
    ya.. we dint even know what happened exactly and why we were made to sit there..
    later i went to a movie along with the newly formed group of friends to “SYE” .. it was fun…
    u went to a movie!!!i dint know about it till now..i missed 😦

  13. July 28, 2009 4:16 PM

    How nice! Brought bk so many memories!

    Tell me abt whistling .. tried n tried no success yet 😦
    so i have company of non-whistling people..
    lets master some other art..

Leave a Reply

