Skip to content

Title Tales

September 11, 2009
tags:

Did you understand anything by the title of the post? Anything at all?

The whole point of writing this post is to know how people decide on a title for a post or for that matter for any movie/a play/a Serial. I am neither a writer nor a journalist to write beautifully or in an organized manner. More often than not, I write only about the things happenings around me by which I am affected or concerned or else it would be my ramble on some random things; but never did I feel that this write-up should have a particular title which will describe what I wrote in a single line.

I don’t want my titles to be a question neither do I want them to be a statement. I feel, I will have to keep a title which is apt to the post; but somehow I can’t figure out ‘the apt’ title and end up putting something which comes to my mind. If you are a regular reader of mine, you would have figured out by now that most of the posts I have written are named as generically as this and that and also tagged under rambles/random rambling.

With the fear of not sounding like the guy in the Asian Paints ad who asks ‘Aap rang kaise soch the hain?’ I would like to ask my readers, Aap title kaise sochte hain??

P.S:  Posting something in order to let people know that I am still reading blogs and writing(?) at mine.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2009 9:29 PM

    I would be the worst person to answer that – I can barely think of titles.. Once I do a post ( 10 mins at max), all I want to do is quickly post it – coz I just don’t have the patience to tweak it at all – so I go with the first thing that comes to mind 🙂
    you atleast post smitha, i never know what title should i put up and end up not posting it at all

  2. September 11, 2009 9:39 PM

    Well my titles usually come out at the last moment. I also have a habit of asking people around me for a suitable title but like a true khadoos I finally use the one I want!!!

    🙂

    😀 Your titles are always catchy Smita so u can stop asking ppl for their opinion also 🙂

  3. September 11, 2009 11:21 PM

    Ayyo u r bk with a bang 😛 giving work to our brains 😉
    😀 had to post something Swaram so thought why not ask you this question 😀
    Well, call me crazy but I think abt the title more than I think abt the post 😛
    You do?? Even i do but somehow nice titles never come to my mind 😦

    • September 11, 2009 11:24 PM

      Ayyo for giving us work I meant 😛
      Ya Understood 🙂
      I really can’t use my brain much esp.. during zzz time 🙂
      I was busy zzzing when u commented 🙂
      I love ur random ramblings dear 🙂 N that title ‘Err.. Excuse me what’s your name?’ ws really cool 8)
      Thank you:D Thats so sweet of u Swaram..

  4. September 11, 2009 11:26 PM

    LOL, I make sure my titles sound good, atleast to me 😉 !!! Sometimes, when I think of writing something, it automatically comes up(Once upon a time in Europe). there are times when I get a good title and then think of writing a post on those lines(Horrorscope). Sometimes I give titles to lure readers (My Pregnant Girlfriend) and there are also instances where I struggle for a title and take a line from the post as the title (I just hate my forefathers).

    (The ones in the bracket are my post titles 😀 )

    how come u forgot to mention ‘Juxtaposition by the haemoglobin of the atmosphere !’ 😀
    Your titles definitely sound interesting Vimmuuu..be it mmmm or the ones mentioned by u 😀

    • September 12, 2009 1:39 PM

      LOL, I wanted to mention that, I was too lazy to type all that. 😀 😀 😀 😀
      Me 😀

  5. September 11, 2009 11:59 PM

    I am always unsure and even change the title sometimes… I try to fins an title that conveys what the post is about…. many of titles are questions in fact 🙂 In yesterday’s post I meant to change the title but accidently clicked ‘published’ so I just let it be… 🙂

    IHM, you too!!
    yes, even i try to find a title that conveys what the post is about.. but most of the times i write on random stuff and end up not finding a nice title 😦

  6. September 12, 2009 1:15 AM

    I always don’t get titles.Sometimes i draft my post and keep it for days till i decide on the title.
    But i feel title should be a catchy

    Same pinch Saritha 😀
    i write some half of the post and then start thinking of the title and when i dont find any i loose the interest to continue the post and endup not posting it

  7. September 12, 2009 6:43 AM

    It’s early morning (9 am) on a Saturday and you are asking me to use my grey cells?
    LOL..u dont have to think now bones..Take your time 😀

  8. September 12, 2009 7:02 AM

    Jeez Mystery!!! 😀

    you come back with a post and we are all – “Mystery’s back”!! and at the end of it you give us work?!! :mrgreen:
    me: 😀 😀 😀
    ayyo! my titles are always hopeless!! before I write the post, I’ll be thinking “what about the title?!!”

    😀 😀 😀
    i am happy that i have company 😀
    isnt it tough to come up with a title?

  9. September 12, 2009 1:24 PM

    My titles generally are weird…

    I am never satisfied.. that day i wrote about the chilly bhajiya’s and water used by us Indians and Smi thought the title made her think its about drought and water management…

    so .. lol…
    Drought management!!!LOL
    but does it really matter ?? I dont give it too much thought… just in the spur of the moment… what comes first.. goes..
    It does matter Hitchy.. its generally the titles that catch your eye first and compel the reader to proceed reading…

  10. September 13, 2009 4:44 AM

    Mystery, I am someone who gives utmost importance to titles. One- because I like having apt titles for my post, Second- I like readers to guess the content from the title.

    Usually, titles just come to my mind as I am writing something. Sometimes it is generic ones, sometimes a song, sometimes a quote etc. I don’t spend much time on it. It just comes to mind. But yes! titles are important for me just like a beginning and ending of a post.

    I too feel the same Solilo. The title should aptly describe the content of the post.

  11. September 13, 2009 4:48 AM

    Some titles lure me to the post.

    I remember when I was a newbie blogger while blog hopping I saw this title ‘Har ghar kuch kehta hai’ and I said to myself that I have to read this one. I read that..felt nostalgic and then read some more posts on the same blog. Connected with every single post I read.

    The blogger is Indyeah, my bestest friend. 🙂

    Oh! that’s how your friendship started… I am going right away to read that post of Indyeah

  12. September 13, 2009 8:10 PM

    I always like to give an apt title, atleast to me… When I write some serious posts I will get easily..

    but while writing the general ramblings, I can’t get the right one… but still I will think a lot about titles 🙂

    Most of the posts i write are general Ramblings Kanagu and hence i always find it difficult to name my posts 😦

  13. September 15, 2009 5:54 AM

    i like having good titles for my post, and try as much as possible to pay attention to what i put there….But i don’t spend too much time or sleep over it…….I usually figure it out from the content of my post…sometimes, i pick a line from the post and make that a title…sometimes it a question and sometimes it’s just a word…there was a time when i had symbols as my title……… sometimes i get the titles instantly and sometimes i don’t……but i like titles to create certain curiosity in my readers….after all that’s what catches the eyes first of all 🙂

    Hi,
    welcome here.
    Yes titles are the ones which catches the eye first.

  14. September 15, 2009 5:54 PM

    In my case, occasionally the title appears in my head before the the post is formed fully. Then, after I write the post, sometimes the title looks apt, and sometimes I have to change it.

    At times, the title emerges in the course of writing the post. Sometimes, there is no title even after a post is completed and then I have to let things float in my head till one pops out, at times necessitating small changes in the text. Then there are times I write a title, am not satisfied with it, write another one and so on, till I find one which I like or feel too lazy to try for longer!
    Searching for titles is always a big task for me..
    I think your titles are pretty good.
    Thanks for the compliment Vinod Sir.

  15. September 16, 2009 10:46 PM

    Posting something in order to let people know that I am still reading blogs and writing(?) at mine.
    heheh good point!
    me: 😀
    but interesting theme…
    i always take care to let my title reflect some essence of the post. but otherwise its not something i have paid too much attention to. maybe i shud start! 🙂
    🙂 may be i too should 🙂

  16. September 20, 2009 11:06 PM

    geee… i think i attempt to write titles according to what i want them to do… like, if i want it to be half inro and lead to curousity, or give the main topic out upfront, directly.

    most of my titles are given at the end of writing the post, coz i tend to stray from topic! 😛

    but i agree, ur title is what allures the readers… and to give a title that holds the essence of ur post is a talent!

    ((((((((((hugs)))))))))

    now i will be waiting more to read the next title u put up mystery!!!! tee hee!!!

    I am up with my new post crafty 🙂

  17. September 28, 2009 1:03 PM

    I cant decide titles a lot of times!!! So, I randomly make up some thing 😛
    Hi Nova,
    Welcome here.. Me too put up random titles mostly..

  18. September 30, 2009 8:50 AM

    now that i dont even post i dont have to worry much about the titles..
    but its a tough job to figure out the apt and catchy title

    Do post girl! i am waiting for your posts…

  19. September 30, 2009 9:38 AM

    Mystery busy?? not seen much

    Yes saritha.. was busy in work.. will be frequent now..

  20. October 12, 2009 6:32 PM

    Titles are important to me……sometimes they come to me while writing the post & sometimes I have to search for them. I’m partial to idioms pertaining to the subject of my post:-D

    I enjoyed reading this post & scanning thru ur comments section :-)!!!!!

    Welcome here Nancy 🙂
    As i told earlier, i always have to search for titles..Glad that u enjoyed reading the post:)

  21. sravanthi permalink
    October 19, 2009 2:29 PM

    First..Title Tales is not a generic’ one..Its the title that grabbed my attention when I was scrolling through the blog (have been a while since I visited any blog…so missed readinbg lots of the new ones)… And rads, an apt title is always the one which crosses your mind when you think of the context..So as you said, you generally pick titles that cross your mind..there you go..you got the APT title…

    Sravs..Thanks for all the good words..whats wrong with you? u praising me and not even a word of leg pulling??

Leave a Reply

