Skip to content

The Tale of Two books and a Ramble

October 27, 2009

I have completed reading the ‘2 states’ by Chethan Bhagat. This is the first time that I bought a book within a month of its release and even completed reading it. Going by the history of my book reading it is no less than an achievement. Coming back to the book, it was a nice read. I am sure everyone Who reads the cover page of the book would be tempted to give it a read. Also, the price (Rs. 95/-) is low.

Cover Page:

Love marriages around the world are simple:Boy loves girl. Girl loves boy.
They get married.

In India, there are a few more steps:

Boy loves Girl. Girl loves Boy.
Girl’s family has to love boy. Boy’s family has to love girl.
Girl’s Family has to love Boy’s Family. Boy’s family has to love girl’s family.
Girl and Boy still love each other. They get married.”

Speaking of books, the other book which I read in the recent times is the Paths of Glory by Jeffrey Archer. It was a nice read. It was about a person whose aim was to conquer the Everest and his journey to achieve that goal. Though the ending was quite obvious from the cover page of the book, I felt bad after reading the book. All your life you struggle for something, even achieve it and the world will not even know about it! The whole struggle seems to be meaningless.

After reading every book, I am always marveled at the way people write books or for that matter a blog post. Writing is not an easy job. To write about happenings around a person is one thing but to put all the things into one form and arrange them in an order which keeps the reader interested is no mean task. Fiction is all together a different world. To imagine things and weave them into a nice story without elaborating too much needs a huge effort and definitely needs brains 🙂 Cheers to all the writers in the world!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 4:04 PM

    1st!
    Me 🙂

  2. October 27, 2009 4:06 PM

    I started reading the book sday! Gonna finish it today 🙂 His books r really kinda easy-gng and very simple! I think I like this one the best next to FPS!
    Yes Swaram all his books are easy going and fun to read. Me too the same order of his books 🙂 and as smita said in her post, this one has so much similarity to Five point someone na.. it was like the continuation of that book..

  3. October 27, 2009 4:25 PM

    I aint reading this book… I just dont like the sound of Chetan Bhagat… not appealing enough…

    quite amazingly everyone is mentioning the price… !!! 😛 😛

    LOL.. If the prize is less you wouldn’t mind if it was not worth a read.
    Well.. to be frank i was tempted by the low prize to buy it and hence mentioned it 🙂

  4. October 27, 2009 9:27 PM

    Love you last para, Mystery. Cheers to all good writers!
    Cheers again 🙂
    No comments on the book as I don’t have anything positive to add about Chetan Bhagat. 😛
    me 🙂

  5. October 27, 2009 10:28 PM

    Everyones been writing on this book. I will wait for the movie, thats easier ! 😀
    LOL.. yeah thats easier..u ll have to wait for atleast 3 4 years for sure…

  6. October 27, 2009 10:37 PM

    I forgot to include this book in the list i gave to hubby to get from hyd,he left today to hyd.
    ur hubby came to hyd! u are not coming? u can call him and ask him to include it in the list along with lots of pickles and homemade food 🙂
    Very well said mystery,i always get amazed by the way the book authors and the bloggers write,the flow of words,the vocabulary,the imaginations etc……………..
    Yes saritha.. It is indeed amazing!

    • October 28, 2009 11:31 AM

      I cancelled my tickets as my mom told me not to come as there are too much of chikungunya and fever cases,even i my sis is suffering from chikungunya since last 15 days.
      Hmm.. yes there are a number of cases of malaria and dengue as well 😦

  7. October 28, 2009 1:14 AM

    Wow… Another recommendation to read this book… Will pick up soon mystery… 🙂 I loved his FPS..
    me too 🙂

  8. October 28, 2009 9:25 AM

    So many good reviews for this book!
    I HAVE to pick this up now!

    And your last para sums it up nicely 🙂
    Thanks Pixie 🙂

  9. October 28, 2009 7:43 PM

    Hmmm so true!!! In fact after finishing every book I wonder how does an author imagine so many characters and how does he link them onto a single story!!! Tough job I say!!!

    Indeed a tough job…Not only creating the characters and linking them, i even wonder how the author thinks of names for those characters.. Sometimes they suit so well to a character that the characteristics of the character and the name become inseparable…

  10. October 29, 2009 10:37 AM

    So, did you like it? M planning to buy it very soon 🙂 Maybe today 🙂

    Yes Nova i liked it.. Go ahead and buy it 🙂

  11. October 29, 2009 5:33 PM

    “To write about happenings around a person is one thing but to put all the things into one form and arrange them in an order which keeps the reader interested is no mean task.”

    Oh yes…very true. This thought always used to cross my mind when I read Harry Potter….like how beautifully JK Rowling used to bring together all loose ends to culmination 😀

    Harry potter was like the heights of imagination..the whole magical world, the charms, the characters..every part needed a lot of imagination..

  12. November 1, 2009 4:09 AM

    Hi Mystery,

    you have been awarded:

    http://kanaguonline.wordpress.com/2009/11/01/awards-time/

    Thanks for the awards Kanagu

  13. November 3, 2009 1:35 PM

    hey you also likd it ..me too 🙂
    Same pinch 🙂
    its indeed very captivating and good story written in extremely simple way..

    and this thought cross my mind too many times..how do author do this…writing whole book on simple storyline…and keep readers like us glued to it…amazing isnt it.
    ya indeed amazing..

  14. Sravz permalink
    December 24, 2009 4:22 PM

    Right Rads! 2 States was quite a book. Very Very Very karan joharish book.
    Me 🙂
    And Right rads! Writing is not at all an easy task. But I was surprised when you thought the same. To be honest, u always amaze me by writing long posts with as much enthu at the end of the post as is at the start! It soothes me a bit, when you said that though…Arre, it is difficult for rads also..not so bad if sravz finds it yama difficult,isn’t it? 🙂
    You are impressed by my posts!! just take some time out of ur busy schedule and read posts of the bloggers i mentioned in my blog roll u ll find them more interestign than mine… But little of praise won’t do any harm so gladly accepting all the good words u said abt my posts 😀

Leave a Reply

